Nicolas Ellis

Conductor, Founder and Artistic director
The Orchestre de l’Agora

Nicolas Ellis

Conductor, Founder and Artistic director

Nicolas Ellis is the Artistic Director and Founder of the Orchestre de l’Agora and currently serves as Artistic Partner to the Orchestre Métropolitain and Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Mr. Ellis has been invited as guest conductor with Les Violons du Roy, the National Arts Centre Orchestra, the Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, the Orchestre symphonique de Longueuil, the Orchestre symphonique de Québec, the Orchestre Métropolitain, Symphony Nova Scotia, the McGill Chamber orchestra, the Ottawa Symphony and the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto.

He completed his Master’s Degree at McGill University in conducting with Alexis Hauser and was a conducting fellow at the Aspen Music Festival where he studied with Robert Spano. For summer 2019, he was part of the Verbier Festival Academy where he acted as assistant conductor to Music Director Valery Gergiev.

In 2013, he founded the Orchestre de l’Agora, an orchestra whose mission is to position the classical musician as an agent of social change within the community. The ensemble has built collaborations with the music program of the Share the Warmth Foundation and Les Porteurs de musique, giving workshops to kids coming from underprivileged neighbourhoods and to people who don’t have access to music such as psychiatric centres, prisons and shelters for battered women. Their recent production of Britten’s The Turn of the Screw in collaboration with the Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal was recorded by ICI Musique and CBC Music and has been broadcasted nationally.

He is the recipient of the 2017 Bourse de carrière Fernand-Lindsay and the Heinz Unger Award 2015 delivered by the Ontario Arts Council and was recently named Revelation of the year (2018-2019) by Radio-Canada.

Nicolas Ellis

Chef et directeur artistique de
l’Orchestre de l’Agora

Nicolas Ellis

Chef et directeur artistique de
l’Orchestre de l’Agora

Nicolas Ellis est le Directeur artistique, chef d’orchestre et fondateur de l’Orchestre de l’Agora et agit également à titre de Collaborateur artistique de l’Orchestre Métropolitain et de Yannick Nézet-Séguin.

Nicolas Ellis s’est produit comme chef invité avec Les Violons du Roy, l’Orchestre du Centre National des Arts, le Kitchener-Waterloo Symphony, l’Orchestre symphonique de Longueuil, l’Orchestre symphonique de Québec, l’Orchestre Métropolitain, Symphony Nova Scotia, l’Orchestre de chambre McGill, l’Orchestre symphonique d’Ottawa et le Royal Conservatory
de Toronto.

Il complété sa Maîtrise en direction d’orchestre à l’Université McGill auprès de Alexis Hauser en plus de se perfectionner au Aspen Music Festival avec Robert Spano. À l’été 2019, Nicolas Ellis a participé à l’Académie du Verbier Festival où il a entre autres agi comme chef assistant pour Valery Gergiev.

Ellis a fondé l’Orchestre de l’Agora en 2013. L’ensemble a pour mission de réinventer le rôle des musiciens classiques dans la société en leur donnant le pouvoir d’augmenter collectivement leur impact sur le monde, grâce à leur talent et leur engagement. L’orchestre a créé des partenariats avec Les Porteurs de Musique et le programme de musique de la Fondation Partageons l’espoir en donnant des cours, des concerts et des ateliers pour des enfants provenant de milieux défavorisés et en jouant dans des lieux où les gens n’ont pas accès à la musique tels que des centres psychiatriques, des prisons et des foyers pour personnes âgées. Les concerts de l’Orchestre de l’Agora ont été enregistrés et diffusés à plusieurs reprises sur les ondes de ICI Musique et CBC Music, dont leur plus récente production de The Turn of the Screw de Benjamin Britten en collaboration avec l’Atelier lyrique de l’Opéra de Montréal.

Nicolas Ellis est le récipiendaire de la Bourse de carrière Fernand Lindsay 2017 et a été nommé Révélation classique de Radio-Canada 2018-2019. Il a aussi remporté le prix Heinz Unger, remis par le Conseil des arts de l’Ontario.