Fiddlers and Northern Folklore

The jig, the cotillion, and the country dance have enlivened the evenings of several generations of Quebecers. Alexis Chartrand, Nicolas Babineau, and the Orchestre de l’Agora revisit these traditional tunes in a program deeply infused with Nordic folklore.

Programm


Danish Quartet: 2 traditional Danish tunes
Grieg: Suite Holberg
Sibelius: Impromptu for strings
Marcus Goddard : Allaqi
(arrangement for string orchestra commissioned by the Agora)

— INTERMISSION —

Babineau-Chartrand : Traditional Quebec dance tunes for fiddler and string orchestra (commissioned by the Agora)

Friday December 13, 2024
7:30 p.m.
Buy tickets

Billetterie – Admission générale
Ticketing

General Public : 60$
Museum Member : 51$
34 and under : 30$

Location

Salle Bourgie
1339 Rue Sherbrooke O 
Montréal, QC H3G 1G2

Artists


Nicolas Babineau and Alexis Chartrand 

Active in the traditional Québécois music scene, Nicolas Babineau is a multi-instrumentalist and sound engineer appreciated for his sensitive and versatile musicality. Trained as a classical violinist at the Conservatoire de Musique de Trois-Rivières, he later studied folk and jazz music with violinist Tommy Gauthier. However, it is the world of Québécois traditional fiddlers, their incomparable style and their unobtrusively rich repertoire, that now inspires his work on the violin. As a guitarist, Nicolas is an accompanist recognized for his poignant, minimalistic approach. His duo with Montréal fiddler Alexis Chartrand, which focuses on melodies inherited from 20th century fiddlers, has performed in Québec, across Canada, in the United States and in Sweden. Numerous ensembles such as Yves Lambert Trio, La Bottine Souriante and Réveillons! have benefited from his virtuosity on the fiddle, the guitar and the mandolin during concerts in Canada, Chile, Spain, France and the United States. Since the production of his first album when he was only 13, Nicolas has contributed his talents in the sound engineering, mixing and production of more than 15 folk, traditional and pop music records. In 2022, he took part in the creation of singer-songwriter Jordane’s album Reine de Papier. He co-produced the two Babineau/Chartrand albums, and album with Jean Duval and Le Tranino, by Alexis Chartrand and Colin Savoie-Levac (Rosier), and finds inspiration in his classical music experience to capture the immediacy of unedited performances, offering recordings praised for their “soft and intimate ambiance”, which allows the listener to “focus on the smallest details”.

Montréal fiddler Alexis Chartrand has been active in the Québécois traditional music scene for several years. He is known for his energetic accompaniment of stepdancing and social dances, frequently collaborating with dancers including baroque dancer Anne-Marie Gardette and traditional dancer and caller Pierre Chartrand. He has explored contemporary and traditional sounds and movements with stepdancers Mélissandre Tremblay-Bourassa and Antoine Turmine. His 2017 album with multi-instrumentalist Nicolas Babineau (fiddle, guitar), Gigues à 2 faces, was nominated for Best Traditional Album at the 2018 Canadian Folk Music Awards, while their 2019 album un beau ptit son has brought their performances across Québec, Canada, New England and Europe. Alexis’ research into the intersections between traditional and baroque violin styles has been supported by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Montréal Arts Council and the Centre des Musiciens du Monde. This work has led to the introduction of the baroque violin into the practice of Québécois folklore, and to new interactions between the worlds of traditional and early musics. His teaching has been appreciated at CAMMAC, Sutton (Québec), Boxwood Festival (Nova Scotia) and Carleton University (Ontario), among others, where he has given workshops on fiddle, traditional repertoire and traditional music history.

Nicolas Gilbert

Compositeur

Wlad Marhulets

Compositeur

Ian Cusson

Compositeur

Nicolas Ellis

Conductor

METTANT AUSSI EN VEDETTE
ORCHESTRE DE L’AGORA
Jamal Al Titi (Le Fauteuil / L’Arbre / Le Phare)
Camila Montefusco (Maman)
Justine Ledoux (La Tasse / La Libellule)
Bridget Esler (La Pastourelle / Le Rossignol / La Chouette)
Scénographie  : Sylvain Scott
Costumes: Marc Sénécal
Éclairages : Alexandre Pilon Guay
Maquillage et coiffure : Justine Denoncourt-Bélanger

Presented in co-production with

Violoneux et folklores du nord

La gigue, le cotillon et la contredanse ont rythmé les veillées de plusieurs générations de Québécois.e.s. Alexis Chartrand, Nicolas Babineau et l’Orchestre de l’Agora revisitent ces airs traditionnels dans un programme fortement imprégné des folklores nordiques.

Programme


Danish Quartet: 2 airs traditionnels danois
Grieg: Suite Holberg
Sibelius: Impromptu pour cordes
Marcus Goddard : Allaqi
(arrangement pour orchestre à cordes commandé par l’Agora)

— ENTRACTE —

Babineau-Chartrand : Airs de danses traditionnels du Québec pour violoneux et orchestre à cordes
(commande de l’Agora)

Vendredi 13 Décembre 2024
19h30
Acheter des billets

Billetterie – Admission générale
Billetterie

Grand Public : 60$
Membres du Musée : 51$
34 ans et moins : 30$

Lieu

Salle Bourgie
1339 Rue Sherbrooke O 
Montréal, QC H3G 1G2

Artistes


Nicolas Babineau et Alexis Chartrand

Œuvrant sur la scène musicale traditionnelle québécoise, Nicolas Babineau est un multi-instrumentiste et un ingénieur de son apprécié pour sa musicalité sensible et versatile. Formé en violon classique au Conservatoire de Musique de Trois-Rivières, il a également étudié les musiques folk et jazz auprès du violoniste Tommy Gauthier. C’est cependant l’univers musical des violoneux traditionnels québécois, leur style inimitable et leur répertoire d’une richesse insoupçonnée, qui inspire aujourd’hui sa démarche au violon. À la guitare, Nicolas est un accompagnateur reconnu pour son approche minimaliste d’une concision remarquable. Son duo avec le violoneux montréalais Alexis Chartrand, qui met en valeur les mélodies héritées des violoneux du XXe siècle, s’est produit au Québec, dans le reste du Canada, aux États-Unis et en Suède. De nombreuses formations telles que le Yves Lambert Trio, La Bottine Souriante et Réveillons! ont profité de sa virtuosité au violon, à la guitare et à la mandoline, lors de concerts donnés au Canada, au Chili, en Espagne, en France et aux États-Unis. Depuis la réalisation de son premier album à 13 ans, Nicolas a participé à la prise de son, au mixage et à la production d’une quinzaine d’albums de musique trad, folk et pop. En 2022, il participe comme ingénieur de son et musicien à la création de l’album Reine de Papier de l’autrice-compositrice Jordane. Co-réalisateur des deux albums de Babineau/Chartrand, d’un album en duo avec Jean Duval et de l’album Le Tranino d’Alexis Chartrand et Colin Savoie-Levac (Rosier), Nicolas s’inspire de son passage par la musique classique pour capturer l’immédiateté de performances réelles, sans édition, et proposer des enregistrements prisés pour leur « ambiance feutrée et intimiste », ce qui « permet de porter attention aux moindres détails ».

Violoneux montréalais, Alexis Chartrand se produit depuis plusieurs années sur la scène québécoise et internationale. Marqué par les liens qui unissent les musiques et les danses traditionnelles du Québec, il est connu pour son accompagnement énergique de la gigue et des danses de figures. Tirant son inspiration de la tradition musicale québécoise, il s’est aussi intéressé aux musiques irlandaises, écossaises, ainsi qu’au répertoire de musique ancienne. Il a également étudié la musique classique et la composition contemporaine. Il collabore fréquemment avec les danseurs Anne-Marie Gardette et Pierre Chartrand, et a exploré avec les gigueurs Mélissandre Tremblay-Bourassa et Antoine Turmine les gestes et sonorités du répertoire traditionnel et contemporain. Son travail avec le multi-instrumentiste Nicolas Babineau a mené à la production de deux albums, Gigues à 2 faces (2017) et un beau ptit son (2019), et leurs performances ont été appréciées à travers le Québec, le Canada, les États-Unis et la Suède. Ses recherches sur les liens entre les styles d’interprétation traditionnelles et baroques ont été supportées par les Conseils des Arts du Canada et de Montréal, et par le Centre des Musiciens du Monde. Ces travaux ont permis d’introduire le violon baroque dans la pratique du folklore québécois, et de tisser de nouveaux liens entre les musiques folkloriques et anciennes. Son enseignement a pu être apprécié à CAMMAC, Sutton et Saint-Alexandre de Kamouraska (Québec), au Boxwood Festival (Nouvelle-Écosse) ainsi qu’à l’Université Carleton (Ontario), où il a donné des ateliers portant sur le violon, le répertoire et l’histoire de la musique traditionnelle du Québec.

Nicolas Gilbert

Compositeur

Wlad Marhulets

Compositeur

Ian Cusson

Compositeur

Nicolas Ellis

Chef

METTANT AUSSI EN VEDETTE
ORCHESTRE DE L’AGORA
Jamal Al Titi (Le Fauteuil / L’Arbre / Le Phare)
Camila Montefusco (Maman)
Justine Ledoux (La Tasse / La Libellule)
Bridget Esler (La Pastourelle / Le Rossignol / La Chouette)
Scénographie  : Sylvain Scott
Costumes: Marc Sénécal
Éclairages : Alexandre Pilon Guay
Maquillage et coiffure : Justine Denoncourt-Bélanger

Présenté en coproduction avec